the Parliament of New South Wales is the lawmaking body for the state of New South Wales it's Australia's oldest legislature and follows the Westminster parliamentary traditions of dress red green chamber colours and protocol it consists of two democratically elected houses the Legislative Assembly and the Legislative Council this is known as a bicameral system in this presentation we're going to look at the passage of a bill through the Legislative Assembly